The Easter Bunny and Easter Sunday

 

When I was a small pup and began to realize that everything I was being told may not be true, I began to have serious doubts concerning the Easter Bunny.

At the time, I was growing up on a small Midwestern farm. We had cows, horses, turkeys, chickens and pet rabbits.

In my then limited experience, I had seen rabbits give birth several times, and consequently, had never seen one lay an egg.

I didn’t say much, I kind of liked the tradition and all the candy and hard boiled eggs that Mr. Easter Bunny left. I wasn’t going to mess that up, even though the tradition really didn’t make much sense.

Sometimes it is best to just leave sleeping dogs lie.

As time went by, I began to realize there may be a method to the madness.

In ancient cultures, the egg often symbolized a rebirth, in ancient Sumeria there was a spring festival resembling Easter. It was the barley harvest festival, a celebration of the harvesting of the barley by giving thanks to the creator for a bountiful harvest.

From what I understand the egg symbolized  rebirth in Sumerian culture because a live chicken would eventually emerge from the egg, thus symbolizing rebirth.

I still haven’t a clue how the bunny enters into this equation, unless because the bunny reproduces in large quantities, it may symbolize a plentiful harvest.

I’m not even sure if there were bunnies in Sumeria.

Ah, the mystery continues.

That may be one of Hugh Heffner’s marketing ploys.

Growing up on a dairy farm in southeastern Indiana, Gary traveled very little until midlife, when the opportunity became available to him.

Grabbing his camera and a bag full of equipment, he began his vision quest traveling to most areas of the United States and several countries abroad.

Along the way he collected several thousand photographs that he wants to share with everyone.

www.travelnsnap.com

Gary decided the best way to accomplish his goal was to publish photo documentaries on the various areas of the world he has visited.

What will follow will be several photography books, who knows how many will wind up in his collection.

To contact Gary:

journeysthrulife@gmail.com.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.