The Journey to Reality

Journey to enlightenment

A journey into the unknown. Open new avenues in your spiritual journey

Written by Gary Wonning

I found this fascinating after it all unfolded, at the time I never realized how or why it was unfolding and was upset at the way life was transpiring.

In 1967 I began driving for United Parcel Service, and by 1968 I had my own delivery area. I was pleased because it was near my hometown, the roads were good and I knew almost everyone I delivered to.

I joined the Air Force Reserve in 1963 at a local Air Force base and was assigned to become a load master after completing my training. During my basic training I received new orders placing me in Base Supply. Needless to say I was disappointed, I joined to Air Force because I wanted to fly, in Base Supply I would be handing out underwear to the people who flew.

I pouted for four years.

Soon nineteen sixty eightĀ  arrived and my life was changing, marriage was in the future and since I only had a little over a year left in my enlistment it seemed I wouldn’t be called up for active duty, my how things can suddenly change.

I wasn’t unusual for my wing to be called to active duty and reality soon hit as we were called to active duty and were leaving in about a month.

My future wife and I had bought a house and was planning a weddingĀ  July, we decided to go ahead and get married and move the wedding up to April, a couple of weeks before my deployment.

Despite being in the middle of the spring “wedding” season, everything worked perfectly and the wedding went off without a hitch.

My duffel bag was packed lying in the cornet of the bedroom when threes days before departure, I received a phone call, I wasn’t going to Vietnam, the Air Force had decided to only take the people on flying status and since I was in supply, they didn’t need me. It was then I realized if my orders hadn’t been changed in nineteen sixty-three, I would be on my way to Vietnam.

Unseen powers had changed my whole life five years ago.

More changes were coming. After calling my supervisor and informing him I would be back Monday morning, I was informed that since I was given a leave of absence, my delivery area was assigned to someone else and because of union rules I would need to take another area.

I was not happy, the area was in the southern part of the state and bordered the Ohio River.Ā  It include Switzerland County, was forty miles from home and even though the roads were hilly, curvy and treacherous in the winter, I soon found the people were wonderful , I have never forgotten how nice the local citizens treated me.

Vevay, the country seat was quaint and very beautiful, especially in the autumn when all the leaves turned a golden and red color., and it had a friendly, familiar feel to it.

Several years later, after beginning my spiritual quest, I had occasion to visit Fredericksburg, Virginia.

A couple of years earlier, while under hypnosis, I discovered a past life where I lived in Fredericksburg before and during theĀ  American Revolution.

As a child, I would always fantasize about being at Valley Force, when the Indiana weatherĀ  turned cold, I remember standing out inĀ  a snow covered field and wonder what it would have been like during the cold winter our troops were stationed at that camp.

As I exited the freeway and drove into town, I noticed a cemetery on my left, I immediately thought, “What is the cemetery doing there? It wasn’t there the last time I was here.”

It was then I noticed the sign by the gate, it was a Civil war Cemetery, it wasn’t here the last time I was here.

Later I did see a Revolutionary War cemetery, some of the names sounded very familiar.

Another surprise, Vevay, Indian isĀ  a small town along the Ohio River, as I drove down the main street of Fredericksburg I couldn’t help but notice how much it resembled Vevay, it was even on the banks of a river.

Vevay has a town called Rising Sun about thirty miles east of town, Frederickburg has an old restaurant/hotel on the east end of town, called the Rising Sun Inn., I couldn’t resist, I had lunch there, seemed like old home week.

I soon found the masonic lodge in town, while I was visiting it, everything seemed so familiar.

I realized that unseen powers had played a major role in all of this, I had been guided to play out this scenario to enlighten me and send me n a spiritual journey that goes on even today, forty years later.

Funny how life turns out.

Gary has been a writer/photographer for over thirty years. Specializing in nature and landscape photography, while studying native cultures.

His travels have taken him to most of the United States, as well as Australia, Belize, Egypt and the Canary Islands.

He has studied the Mayan culture of Central America and the aborigines of

Australia. Photography has given him the opportunity to observe life in various parts of the world.

He has observed that many of the forgotten cultures had spiritual beliefs that were stronger than ours in modern times.

In technology, we have made advances far superior to those that came before us, but, we have lagged behind in gaining or maintaining our spiritual knowledge.

For us to advance as the human race, we need to combine the spiritual knowledge of those that came before us, not only that of the ancients but the knowledge of our direct ancestors as well, with the technical knowledge we have today for us to propel into the twenty-first century and beyond.

He has published several books about his adventures.

For more information, please consult his website,www.journeysthrulife.com.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.