Back to Orlando!

Art Prints

Your FLORIDA Superstore.

Thursday emerged a normal bright and sunny day in Florida, a perfect day to make my trek to Orlando utilizing the highways and byways.

I had decided to go through the middle of the state rather than crossing and driving up the Florida Turnpike, (too far).

I left four hours before I was scheduled to be in Orlando allowing for the anticipated delays caused by the closure of I-4. I felt this would be plenty of time as well as allowing me time to eat, as I didn’t want to go 9 hours without a meal, as it turned out the timing was perfect.

My route would be to drive I-75 to hwy 64, travel east on it until reaching US17 and driving north  until I reached interstate 417 which leads into Orlando International airport.

The roads were relatively quiet, hwy 64 was a pleasure to drive, with little traffic, I was able to observe the farms, cattle, and large estate style homes that are popular in this area.

Turning north on US 17, I was driving through areas I had never been before, except for last night when it was dark and visibility was really low! The towns reminded me a lot of towns in the southwest, except for the grass and lack of cactus.

The traffic was light until I reached Lake Alfred and joined up with Hwy 92 , where I started to encounter traffic that was avoiding the accident on I-4. From there to Orlando it would be rather slow, with that part of the journey taking well over an hour.

However after enjoying a quick meal at Wendys in Kissimmee, I was able to make Orlando airport at 5:35, exactly when my flight from London was landing.

Meeting my clients at baggage claim I informed them of the long ride we had ahead of us.
I had been hoping all day that I-4 would be open for my return trip, I enjoyed the trip through the real Florida, but enough is enough.

Just as their baggage rounded the corner’s on the carousel, my cell phone rang, the long hoped for message had arrived, the freeway was open!! It would be a comparatively short two-hour ride home, cheers went up from my passengers as I informed them of the good news.

The author has been a writer/photographer for over thirty years. Specializing in nature and landscape photography, as well as studying native cultures.

His travels have taken him to most of the United States, as well as Australia, Belize, Egypt and the Canary Islands.

He has studied the Mayan culture of Central America as well as the aborigines of Australia. Photography has given him the opportunity to observe life in various parts of the world.

He has published several books about his adventures.

For more information, please consult his website,www.journeysthrulife.com.

Your comments welcome

Improve your health, Increase your wealth

Improve your health, Increase your wealth

baby boomers

Each generation from the beginning of our country has contributed to what our country has become. By the same token, no one is perfect. Consequently, each generation has done and will continue to perform acts that it would have been better if some other course of action was taken.
The baby boomers have contributed much and have been blamed for the decline of America. What is the true story?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.